The Show

Apr. 10th, 2006 07:20 pm
ljplicease: (Broken Window)
[personal profile] ljplicease
Yesterday, I went to the Sydney Royal Easter Show (or "The Show" in common speech) with my mum. From what I had heard over the years, it's sort of like a really big state fair, although granted, mostly what I have heard about the show is how the "show bags" aren't as good as they used to be. Mum seemed to take offence at such a characterization, because what makes The Show special is the scale of the thing (to wit: really big), and after spending a day at The Show, I have to admit The Show is special.
First of all, each district in the state of New South Wales (and one district from Queensland) put together funny displays made up of entirely by the produce and agricultural products of the region. Next they have these overpriced plastic bags full of junk food, which are apparently not as good as what they used to be in years gone past. These bags are called "show bags", presumably after The Show.
There are a lot of farm animals, and judging of farm animals, which to the untrained eye might look a lot like a really big state fair.
In the feats of strength category was the wood chop. According to the announcer at the wood chop, this was the Wimbledon of wood chop. That's pretty good since I've never even been to the Wimbledon of tennis. Anyway, the Australian pictured in green above, had been the world champion about 12 times of the event where one guy saws a big log in half. He came in second this year (we were there for the final), and he was the first one to congratulate the winner, which I thought was super sporting of him. The atmosphere was really nice. For most events, the crowed cheered for pretty much everyone, even for the guys who came in last (which is still quite an accomplishment in the finals).
At the main arena, we saw the Holden Stormriders, who are a bit like the blue angels, except for instead of flying blue hornets, they drive red utes. They were pretty impressive; although I believe considerably less so if you've ever ridden in a New York City taxi. After the red utes, were flying motorcycles, and the human cannonball. For some reason, the human cannonball was a woman from America. You'd think that they could find one person in all of Australia to act as a projectile. At the very end there were lots of fireworks and it was all very pretty. I'd do it again next year. I took lots of pictures. There are some more here: http://www.wdlabs.com/twilight/060410/

Date: 2006-04-10 09:30 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bluebirdnight.livejournal.com
I really enjoy looking at your photos. :) What kind of camera do you primarily use?

Date: 2006-04-10 03:01 pm (UTC)
plicease: (Default)
From: [personal profile] plicease
Thanks :) I have more here: www.whitedactyl.com These were taken with my DSLR which is a Minolta Maxxum 7D. I sort of wish I had brought my 70-200mm zoom because a number of these were taken with a 100mm macro lens and then cropped in Photoshop, which is not the ideal! When I'm shooting film (preferred) I often use my Nikon FE, which is an old manual focus. Film and processing is expensive in Australia though, so I will be shooting mostly digital, at least till I get a real job again.

Date: 2006-04-10 03:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bluebirdnight.livejournal.com
Wow. I just checked out your other pages on that site.. and yes Wow. Beautiful beautiful work.
I shoot w a canon 20d.. Ive only had it for a few months so Im still getting used to everything. But, so far I really love it. :)
Have any interesting photo projects your working on or would like to lately?
I have a few in mind.. but cant do them just yet..

Date: 2006-04-10 03:36 pm (UTC)
plicease: (Default)
From: [personal profile] plicease
Mostly I just want to get back into it. I sort of lost focus when I stopped taking classes about two years ago. Some things that I'd like to do are

. get a tripod and do some night photograhpy, esp. around the Quays and the harbour bridge, now that I live in Sydney and it's is so accessible.

. setup a darkroom and get back into black and white; I refuse to let others print my b&w now that I know how to do it myself.

. setup a studio (I like playing with lights) and do some portrait work... except I don't really have the people skills, but I can dream right?

Anyway, it's cool that you have some ideas, you should definitely run with that. Mostly I want to get new equipment to play with, which is bad because stuff is expensive.

Profile

ljplicease: (Default)
ljplicease

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 10:14 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios