ljplicease: (building beacon)
[personal profile] ljplicease
My expectations were pretty low, so ironically I was expecting to enjoy the film. I saw it last week and had been putting off writing about it indefinitely, but I thought that would share my thoughts.

What is wrong with the film is that it is trying to bring the audience to the beginning of Episode IV, a idea which has already captured the imagination of many, making it impossible for Lucas to live up to everyone's expectations. I would almost prefer not to have known about the specific origins of Darth Vader. His introduction in Episode IV, with very little fanfare did a lot more to paint the character than the last three Star Wars movies made.

What was right about the film was the final fight sequence between Anakin and Obi-Wan (I have difficulty thinking of Anakin as Vader until he gets his new clothes). It was awesome; it does actually redeem the film.

What is specifically wrong with the film is that the chemistry between Anakin and Padmé is awful, the chemistry between Anakin and Obi-Wan is weak and Anakin's conversion to the dark side isn't really justified. It is cool to see Yoda take on the Emperor, and I enjoyed that, although at the same time I feel the inclusion of Yoda in the first three films was a little gimmicky.

I saw a Pepsi ad featuring Yoda and I was like "that was awful", and Joe said "Come on Yoda wanted a Pepsi" and I said, "No, Yoda's agent obviously has not been advising him well, because he really should not have been in that ad." I feel a little like that about all of the prequels. Star Wars is a great idea, but its agent should have known better.

Profile

ljplicease: (Default)
ljplicease

April 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
23 45678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 10:48 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios